2018 Scholarships Winners

Tutu Tran
BSW Student, St. Olaf College, Northfield

Mandy Doocy
MSW Student, Augsburg College, Minneapolis



                                                                          SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION

About our scholarship:


1. Applicant must be currently enrolled and accepted in a BSW or MSW accredited program.
2. Preference given to those who have an interest in completing a School Social Work internship.
3. Preference will be given to student Undergraduate Members, Affiliate Members or Regular Members of MSSWA working in the field.

Scholarship Information
• Two scholarships awarded yearly.
• Value of each scholarship is $500.00.
• Application must be postmarked by March 23rd, 2018.
• Submit application and other credentials to:
MSSWA C/O Jeri Nomeland
1120 Oakland Park Road, Thief River Falls, MN 56701

Application Procedures
ants must submit copies of the following information:

A. Evidence of acceptance in an accredited MN Social Work Program.
B. Two to three letters of reference (one from a faculty member and one from a field placement supervisor, if appropriate).
C. Proof of student status.
D. A current resume.
E. Statement in 200 words or less about future plans in School Social Work.
F. A current college transcript.

Winner will be notified by April 2nd, 2018.  The award will be given at the MSSWA Spring Conference on April 11, 2018.

Contact Jeri Nomeland at 218-689- 1808 with any questions.

About Don Rinkenberger
Don was elected MSSWA’s first president and began serving in 1969. He worked to promote the profession of school social work in Minnesota. The awards are given in recognition of his valuable service to all of us.  He was a school social worker at Patrick Henry High School in Minneapolis

Winner of the 2017 $500 Graduate Student Scholarship

Christopher Lawler
MSW Student, Augsburg College, St. Paul


Winners in 2016 of the $500 scholarship through MSSWA:

Aimee Love

Graduate Student of University of North Dakota

Sarah Stadie 
Graduate Student of Augsburg College


Liz Kruger-Hommerding

Molly Fox

Sherry Murphy

Susanne Schroeder

Legislative Chair
Christy McCoy

Professional Development Chair
Dan Porter

If you are having difficulty with your on-line membership or conference registration, please contact Susanne Schroeder - schfam@charter.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software