Minnesota School Social Worker Association (MSSWA) collaborated with the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) in partnership to develop this exceptional reference guide for school social work practitioners and school administrators. The manual has been divided into sections for easier access.  Please click on the hilighted links below.


Cover and Preface: An overview of practice and collaboration, focusing on the unique contribution School social workers bring to children, schools and communities.

Acknowledgements: The manual tapped the expertise of many social work professionals who generously shared their time and resources.

Purpose: Clarification of the role of school social work services in Minnesota schools

Table of Contents
Chapter I - Mission of the Social Work Practice
Chapter II - School Social Work Practice
Chapter III - Professional Development 
Chapter IV - Legal Mandates
Chapter V - Student Evaluation and Assessment Procedures
Chapter VI - School Social Work Services
Chapter VII - Special Education Policies and Procedures for SSW Services in Schools
Chapter VIII - Children's Mental Health
Chapter IX - Social Work Professional Association and Professional Resources
Chapter X - Appendix

NASW School Social Work Standards

SSWAA SEL Standards

Trauma Resources

FERPA & HIPPA Guidance

School Social Work Ethical Standards

The Authors of this Manual are:

Debra Brecht, MSW, LICSW
School Social Worker
Owatonna Public Schools
Lynn Bye, MSW, Ph.D
Associate Professor of Social Work
University of Minnesota-Duluth
Kendra J. Garrett, Ph.D.
University of St Thomas, St. Paul
Kathy Lombardi, MSW, LICSW
School Social Work Lead
St. Paul Public Schools
Kathy Lowry, MSW, LICSW
School Social Worker
Prior Lake-Savage School District
Community Faculty, University  of MN
Anne McInerney, MSW, LICSW
School Social Worker
St. Paul Public Schools
Linn Ostberg, MSW, LICSW
School Social Worker
Minneapolis Public Schools
Cindy Shevlin-Woodcock, MA
Interagency/Mental Health Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education

Molly Fox

Past - President
Liz Kruger Hommerding

Sherry Murphy

Susanne Schroeder

Legislative Chair
Christy McCoy

Professional Development Chair
Dan Porter

If you are having difficulty with your on-line membership or conference registration, please contact Susanne Schroeder - schfam@charter.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software